Rachel Down Under!

Don’t whine…wine!

Posted in Australia, Sydney by rssmith218 on January 19, 2011

Ready for an adventure?

You can tell by my hat that this previous weekend was full of adventure. I will be brief, as I am simultaneously packing for my upcoming trip to South Australia, but here is a quick glimpse of the weekend’s exploits.

Thomas and I spent a lovely afternoon at Watson’s Bay bef0re heading downtown for an evening in the Domain with Los Lobos.

Always love to see North Head!

And of course we had to stop for fish and chips at the local fish shack!

Greasy enough for you?

Mmmmmmm…..

The good food continued as we enjoyed jelly donuts and beer (maybe not as good of a combination as fish and chips, but still delicious) with a twilight picnic in the company of Los Lobos.

And Los Lobos (from afar!)

I mean, really far away!

Thomas and I awoke early the next morning for a trip to Hunter Valley, also known as wine country! By 10 am, we were already enjoying our first tasting, as you can see here.

We visited 3 wineries over the course of the day, and even learned a bit about the wine-making process.

Mostly, though, we just enjoyed the wine.

Tomorrow we head to South Australia for a trip to Kangaroo Island, off the coast of Adelaide. I’m looking forward to seeing some wildlife (great white sharks, too?), spending some time at the beach, and exploring some new Aussie wilderness. For now, though, I should probably get back to my packing. See you in a week!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lenore said, on January 21, 2011 at 2:52 am

    Yuuuummmmmm!! Fried stuff and alcohol! I can’t wait to get there!
    Save some adventures for me!

  2. Nicholas said, on January 21, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Thomas, what sort of wine tasting outfit is that?


Leave a Reply

