Rachel Down Under!

Catchup

Posted in Australia, Sydney by rssmith218 on November 8, 2010

In Aussieland, it’s called tomato sauce!

Only six more hours before I disappear into the Sydney  pseudo-wilderness, so I thought I would post a few weekend photos before I get too far behind!

Weekend highlights:

1.

Glissando your way into Sculpture by the Sea, an annual exhibition in which the Bondi to Tamarama coastal walk transforms into a giant sculpture park. Admittedly, anything can look pretty good with the background of Bondi’s cliffs and ocean views, but I was still impressed by these sculptures. Some highlights follow, though I wish I could show you all of them! The Sculpture by the Sea website has some great photos of these works as well.

2. A rainy day exploring the neighborhood of Paddington…

…first to the fashion-forward Paddington markets…

…then to a historic resevoir turned modernist park….

…and finally to the Victoria Barracks, which, according to my tourbook, is “widely considered to be one of the best examples of a military barracks in the world”. Fancy.

3. Wait! Is that sun I see?

Do you believe it? Impossible! Quick, better take advantage before the inevitable Sydney rain returns again! And what better to do on a sunny day than go sailing…in Manly!

It’s try-sailing-for-free day at the Manly Yacht Club!

Livin’ the life, huh Aisha?

And finally, my favorite (and only slightly creepy) picture from the weekend, taken at my favorite Shelly Beach in Manly. Who doesn’t want a skirt made out of seaweed?

Time to catch some sleep before a busy week out in the field. Can’t wait to make my way to Newcastle and Port Stephens this week!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lenore said, on November 8, 2010 at 3:03 am

    You are still having way too much fun!!!!


Leave a Reply

