Rachel Down Under!

Coast to coast!

Posted in Australia, Sydney by rssmith218 on August 5, 2010

After a LONG flight, I have ventured from the east coast of the Pacific over to the west side! The flight was lengthy but smooth, and I spent the flight sandwiched between two twenty-six-year old “bros”. One of them ordered 7 Coronas over the course of the flight, including one beer that he drank with breakfast at 5:30 am. Needless to say, they were good company and the time passed (a whole Wednesday skipped!) much more quickly than I had anticipated.

And now I am in Sydney! It has been a long day. Ziggy picked me up at the airport at 6:30 am and took me on a quick tour of the university and the neighborhoods surrounding the apartment. He dropped me at the apartment before heading to work, and since then, I have slowly been unpacking my suitcases. I took some time away from packing for a walk down to Bondi beach and then continued to walk along the “Coastal Walk” to see some of the other nearby beaches. Check out these pictures- it is so beautiful here!

The famous Bondi Beach- only 2 minutes from my apartment and looking fly

This is the beach closest to my apartment- Can you spy my place in the background?

It is amazing how much my first glimpse of Sydney reminds me of Santa Monica in Los Angeles. There are the same beachside walks, the tropical-looking plants and flowers that I can’t identify, the oceanside skate parks, and larger-than-expected hills (I barely made it back to my apartment; I am going to get into good shape around here!).

However, Sydney does seem cleaner than LA, even though there does seem to be a lot of grafitti here.

As beautiful as Sydney is, I am looking a little worse for wear.

I know that a nap will probably only hurt my efforts to fight my jet lag, but I am too tired to resist! Off to nap before dinner!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. PJ Wagner said, on August 5, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Glad to see that you made it safely. The pictures are beautiful. Hope you’re able to sleep and recover from the jet lag in a hurry. Then on to more adventures!

  2. Lenore said, on August 5, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    How beautiful, Rachel! Does it feel like winter there? Is that your Chicago Symphony Tshirt from their Australian Tour?

  3. David said, on August 6, 2010 at 11:18 am

    It looks great Rachel. I’m sure you’re going to have a wonderful time there.

  4. Darlene Coleman said, on August 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    Hi Rachel: had lunch with your mom yesterday, we caught up on you and your life since I last saw you, which was 6 years ago, and she shared your site with me. I am so proud of you!! I hope you have a wouderful time and keep the pictures coming, I love seeing them.

  5. Lisa said, on August 7, 2010 at 6:49 am

    Awesome! It looks so pretty and non-poisonous. And how is it that you always get stuck between the really interesting people on flights? I am remembering eventful flights to and from Italy…


Leave a Reply

