Rachel Down Under!

We got it on lock…

Posted in California by rssmith218 on August 3, 2010

Hello from LA, the first stop on my big adventure!

I have to admit that I had some very strong preconceptions about LA before I arrived-mainly that it would be a dirty, grungy, polluted place- a real-life eco-dystopia! To be fair, this vision was based primarily on LA’s portrayal in The Fifth Sacred Thing, a sci-fi novel I read (and became mildly obsessed with) this past fall for an Ecology and Religion class. However, I am happy to say that so far LA has been wonderful, and the parts I have experienced these past couple days have been anything but an ecological mess. For example, as I write this post, I have the following view from the courtyard in Thomas’s house. Pretty beautiful, isn’t it?

The past few days have been busy, but relaxing, and Thomas and I have taken several short day trips around LA.  We’ve explored Santa Monica and Venice beaches, tested out the LA nightlife, and spent a day at Will Roger’s State Historic Park. Overall, a great trip!

Here are some photographic highlights:

Soaking up the sun at Santa Monica beach-we forgot to bring sunscreen and by the end of the day we were both bright red!

A rowdy drum circle at the beach- I tried to convince Thomas to dance, but he was too shy.

Out for drinks at the 3rd St. Promenade. Thomas is rightfully a bit skeptical of that hot sake!

Will Rogers State Historic Park is the site of Will Roger’s Pacific Palisades ranch, but it is also home to beautiful hiking trails, expansive polo fields, and friendly weekend ultimate Frisbee pick-up. We biked to the park, played a bit of Frisbee, and went on a short hike to Inspiration Point, where, ultimately, we were inspired. We then lounged around on the grass while watching polo (Malibu vs. Palisades).

When hiking in LA, it is MOUNTAIN LIONS, not bears, for which you must always be wary!

Inspiration Point- Do you feel inspired?

LA has been the perfect stop on my trip to Australia; I finally feel relaxed and ready for the rest of the journey. I leave LA tomorrow evening for a red-eye flight to Sydney. Ziggy will be picking me up from the airport, but I’m unsure of where I will go from there- Straight to the university? Off to set up my new apartment? To the beach? I am nervous and excited, but I can’t wait to get going!

Reminders of Australia are everywhere, but the next time you hear from me, I will actually be in Bondi! Looking forward to it!

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lenore said, on August 3, 2010 at 7:21 am

    Rachel – I am so jealous! It looks like you are having a great time! Now, about that sunscreen………..

  2. PJ Wagner said, on August 3, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Looks like you’re having a great time already! I’m so excited for you and love the blog- it’s understandable if you can’t keep up with it but I’ll be one of your followers.
    Hugs, Rachel! What an adventure!

  3. Tricia said, on August 4, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Thanks for starting your blog so we can follow you on this amazing adventure. I am loving your entries – your journey so far looks fun & your pictures are great! I look forward to the stories you’ll share. Have a safe trip!

  4. Lisa said, on August 4, 2010 at 11:07 am

    Hey Rachel! Good luck on the next part of your adventure! Sorry I wasn’t around to say goodbye, and I hope you are having a great time. I want updates on Ziggy and the apartment as soon as possible. I shall likewise keep you updated on boring Chester/Midlothian news.


Leave a Reply

